Ready for the World Cup?

The ICC Cricket World Cup is all set to begin on May 30 in England and the Indian team for the world’s most important One Day International (ODI) tournament has been chosen. Leading the team is Virat Kohli, who will be supported by Rohit Sharma who will be the Vice-captain. The team also includes former captain MS Dhoni who has been in great form during the Indian Premier League (IPL).
Surprisingly, Rishabh Pant and Ambati Rayadu have not been included in the team list. Pant in particular has been in good touch recently. Instead, the selectors picked Vijay Shankar whom they felt was an all-rounder and could therefore contribute more to the team.
Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan will open the batting for India with Virat Kohli and Vijay Shankar batting at the third and fourth positions. On the bowling front, India have Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami as fast bowling options. Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav are the specialist spinners while Ravindra Jadeja will also pitch in when needed. Hardik Pandya who bowls medium pace completes the bowling squad.
Who will win the World Cup?
Hosts England, along with India and Australia, are the favourites to win the World Cup. India has won the tournament twice in 1983 and 2011. Australia have won the tournament maximum number of times-five-while like India, the West Indies have won it twice. Pakistan and Sri Lanka have won it once. This is the fifth time that the tournament is being held in England.

The format
The format is different from the 2015 edition.
• In the first round all ten teams will play each other once-so, each team will play 9 matches
• The top four teams will make it to the semi-finals
• The winners of the semi-finals will play the finals at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London on July 14.

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/childfriendly/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 405