India wins Davis Cup tie against New Zealand

The Indian tennis team beat New Zealand 4-1 in a Davis Cup tie against New Zealand played at New Delhi last weekend.

Indian singles players Yuki Bhambri and Ramkumar Ramanathan defeated their Kiwi opponents in the two matches they played each. The only match lost was the doubles played by Leander Paes and   Vishnu Vardhan.

India will now face Uzbekistan in the next round of the Davis Cup.

What is the Davis Cup?

The Davis Cup is a tennis tournament played between national teams of different countries. All Davis Cup ties (or rounds) consist of four singles matches and 1 doubles match. The teams are divided into groups based on geography. India is part of the Asia/Oceania group.