Chennai Super Kings win IPL

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) beat Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai to win the Indian Premier League (IPL) 4. This is the second year in a row that CSK have won the IPL.

CSK batted first and posted a huge total of 205 runs. RCB completely failed to chase this total. Once their star batsman Chris Gayle got out for a duck (zero), every RCB batsman got out, one after the other. RCB managed to score only  147, giving CSK a huge win. Murali Vijay was the star player for CSK. He scored 95 runs and was declared the ‘Man of the Match.’

CSK also won the ‘Fair Play’ award which means that they played the tournament in a just manner without breaking any rules.

The Best Batsman

The batsman who has scored the most number of runs wears the Orange Cap and in IPL 4, it was Chris Gayle of Royal Challengers Bangalore who wore the cap for the longest. Not surprisingly, he was declared the ‘Man of the Tournament.’ He scored a total of 511 runs—more than any other player.


The Best Bowler

The bowler with the most number of wickets in IPL 4 wears the Purple Cap. In IPL 4, Lasith Malinga of Mumbai Indians wore the Cap right from the beginning. And he also ended IPL 4 as the best bowler of the tournament with 27 wickets overall.